Home > media > there’s a ghost strap on my wrist

there’s a ghost strap on my wrist

it turns out that the only place in the entire city of austin that currently has any wii’s in stock is walmart. i broke down and for the first (and hopefully only) time in my life, entered into and made a purchase at a walmart store. i take some solace in knowing that they sold the system for the same price as every other location on the planet, but that didn’t help the fact that it was a walmart. the only justification is that unless i waited months for the demand to die down, there is no way that i could be assured that i could actually purchase a wii. supplies at every store i called sell out in a matter of hours, and none of them know when the new shipments arrive – they just magically appear. there is no waiting or hold list for a wii – you basically have to cold call and hope that the system is still there by the time you arrive at the store.

so anyway, i got the wii and actually managed a small degree of restraint by not setting it up until after dinner. my wife’s second bout of pregnancy exhaustion has begun following a one week period of energy, so she was wiped out by 9:30p and could only play one game of tennis. i stayed up for another 1.5 hrs playing every game on wii sports, which came bundled w/ the system (just like duck hunt came w/ the original nintendo!). tennis, baseball, bowling, golf, and boxing – my muscles are actually a bit sore. that says 2 things about both me and wii:

  1. the nintendo wii actually encourages a degree of exercise. cindy played a quick game of boxing this morning w/ me before we both started working, and she acknowledge that it got her heart rate up.
  2. i am extremely out of shape.

over the course of the day, i’ve taken 20 minute breaks from my reading to play more wii, and my forearms actually ache. i have that body tiredness that comes from a full day of activity after a long winter. my birthday present from my in-laws came in the mail today – super paper mario and zelda. my wife asked what i wanted to do tonight to celebrate my birthday (coming up in a few days). i said …wii?! she replied excitedly that she was down w/ that – she had only played one game this morning b/c she had work to do. that right there is the reason why every person on the planet should own a wii – my wife enjoys it. she is not a gamer or techie in any manner of the word, though part of my life’s mission is to change that. i jumped for joy the other day when she mentioned that using a windows pc at work every day is difficult, stupid, and irritating now that she uses a mac at home. so, macs and wiis, my friends. macs and wiis.

check out this absolutely incredible – in every way – zelda video.

Categories: media
  1. May 4, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    I’ve been looking for a Wii myself…it’s a present for my 17th…and well, 2 weeks past my birthday and they’re all sold out. I’m just getting myself Zelda, not Wii Sports, though. I’m a Zelda fangirl. 🙂

  2. May 5, 2007 at 8:48 am

    yup, you have to be ready to jump at a moment’s notice to get one of these bad boys. good luck! btw, wii comes w/ wii sports, so lucky you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

