Home > architecture, Austin, work > taken an offer!

taken an offer!

fantastic – i just accepted an offer today with my top choice architecture firm here in austin. they extended the offer last week, and i was seriously contemplating the offer from my 2nd choice, but ultimately the quality of the outfit at firm#1 took the trump card. the design, engineering, and project goals are more in line with what i want to do and how i want to develop as an architect. they’re reorganizing the firm to have a more progressive design focus, and there is a major push on tech research, with relationships formed with MIT Media Lab and other outfits that i don’t yet know about. supposedly a laser cutter is in the pipeline. there is also a major focus on sustainability, which of course is extremely important to me, and my focus on sustainability likely gave me a big up in getting the job. the benefit package is really good, and they’re flexible on me taking time when my child comes into the world this november. 🙂 and not that it made a difference in my decision, but having our offices on the 22nd floor of a 23 floor bldg (one of the tallest in austin) with balconies doesn’t hurt either!

Categories: architecture, Austin, work
  1. kwan
    April 27, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Hi, I know I’m a complete stranger, but I’m curious to know which firms you were interested in because it seems we both have similar interests in sustainable architecture (from a superficial skim through of your categories atleast). By the way, I’m not stalking you. Believe it or not, I came across your weblog just by googling ‘”LL” “architecture firm” dallas’.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

