Home > architecture, Austin, work > first job offer!

first job offer!

sweet! the interview that i thought didn’t go so well apparently went well enough that they just extended me an offer! this is one of my top 2 choices, and i would be very excited to work with this firm. the work is super cool, the location is fantastic, the benefits (which i’m waiting on via email) sound great from the first description, they’re very accommodating for family time (important, as i’m going to be a daddy soon!), and the salary is in my ballpark, albeit on the lower end (still higher, though, than the average salary for recent architecture masters grad in austin).  they’ve given me room to negotiate, though, so i should be able to get pretty much what i want.  i contacted my other #1 choice, but they’re apparently unable to make any hiring decisions until august (the austin office is moving to a new location and is also dictated by the whims of the dallas office).  they told me that i was at the top of their list, but that they’re pretty much stuck at the moment.  it was a good open-ended conversation: they told me to keep them in mind if things change, and that they’d be interested if my plans change.

so essentially that leaves me w/ an interview tomorrow w/ my #2 choice (below the other 2 i just mentioned).  i was very excited w/ my initial interview, but my second interview w/ this firm got screwed over twice w/o much contact from their end, so i’ve been a bit leary of whatever may happen w/ them.  still, they seem to do good work and are expanding.  we’ll see how tomorrow goes – but the most important thing is I’M FREAKIN PSYCHED!

Categories: architecture, Austin, work
  1. April 16, 2007 at 11:48 pm

    Nice blog!

  1. April 23, 2007 at 2:01 pm

Leave a Reply

