Home > haha, nature > don’t hurt the squirrels!

don’t hurt the squirrels!

i just got some flickr mail in regard to an old photo of mine, in which my wife Cindy is seen holding a pellet gun in her backyard. she’s holding this gun b/c her parents’ practice of running off nuisance squirrels from one of their trees is shooting at them. the first time i heard about this, i was baffled, but now i think it’s kind of funny assuming you generally avoid, you know, killing the squirrels (though that’s exactly what happened once – the squirrel fell to the ground, and my dog – who had been barking incessantly at the squirrel – thought he killed it just by barking. he was a very happy and proud dog for a long time after that). anyway, i completely forgot that pic was on my account until i got this note this morning:

In regards to the photo of Cindy with the gun, and the
comment about shooting squirrels, I feel the need to spread
awareness of squirrels in the Dallas area. Please visit my
blog:

http://squirrelawareness.blogspot.com/

Thank you for your time, and enjoy.

i took a look at this blog, and am having a hard time figuring out if it’s a joke or not. some of the posts seem ridiculous – Squirrel Awareness Tip #4, for instance, in which the writer advocates eavesdropping on conversations about squirrels, and either joining in if the conversation is geared positively towards squirrels, or explaining why you like squirrels and why they’re so great if the conversation is about hating/hunting squirrels.  another post contains this observation:

Earlier today, I saw a buck in my church’s inner courtyard. He was eating grass, possibly to obtain nutrients he can’t otherwise get from acorns.

i’m sorry, but stream of consciousness does not make for particularly interesting reading.  plus, the song that automatically plays on every page load is super irritating.  even if i liked the content of this blog, i would probably stop visiting just because of the music.  all of these things make the blog seem ridiculous, but then the author writes  a post that seems legit, regarding the barbaric poisoning of already endangered prairie dogs.

all in all, i think the site is legit, and i think it’s kind of funny.  i’m not going to take down the picture of my wife w/ a gun, and i’m not going to change my behavior regarding squirrels – which is basically nothing.  i think squirrels are cute, but i also despise them since they dig up my plants and cause my dog to bark like a savage attack animal.  i don’t shoot them or harm them, but i’d sure like to add some cayenne pepper around my plants to spice up their meals.  either that or shoot them w/ water guns.

Categories: haha, nature
  1. April 12, 2007 at 11:28 pm

    Hi, I am the author of said blog. I’m glad you took the time to look at it, but I don’t expect everyone to like it. It’s no joke, but I needed input from people in the Dallas area in order to improve the blog, which is why I was showing it. The way I found the picture of Cindy was by searching “Dallas” and “squirrels” to see if there is anyone in the Dallas area needing to be more squirrel-aware. Thanks for the input, I will do my best to improve my blog in the future. 🙂

    You’re the first person I met that doesn’t like Tingstad & Rumbel. They’re my favorite New Age duet. The oboe is a very difficult instrument to play, and Nancy Rumbel has mastered it. Well, it’s okay if we don’t share the same musical tastes, but I thought this music would go well with my blog. If enough people don’t like the music, I’ll be glad to change it. 🙂

  2. April 13, 2007 at 7:57 am

    regarding Tingstad & Rumbel, i’m totally ambivalent. it’s not that i dislike their music in particular, it’s that i hate when music automatically plays on pageload. every time you jump to a different page in the site, you’re forced to listen to the music; it’s just a component of websites that i dislike.

    if you really want to add music to your site, maybe you should consider something like tunefeed, a flash widget that will allow users to either start or stop the music themselves.

    and your comment for some reason still makes me think your site is a joke…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

