Home > tech, web > Google Maps calling feature – in Gmail??

Google Maps calling feature – in Gmail??

Google Maps, aka Google Local, now has a calling feature that’s been flitting about in limited quantities recently.  Apparently it went completely live and is available on just about every business w/ a verified listing.  I’ve tried it several times, and it works pretty well.  Funny sidenote – I called my fiance’ at work through Google Maps, and the receptionist asked if I was ‘on a Google’.  While she thought I was calling from my computer, which I wasn’t, she was still on the mark.  Apparently, Google uses Skype behind the scenes to make these call connections.  Was the entire call VoIP?  I don’t know.

Anyway, now that this is live and looks like it will be a successful addition, I think it would be an awesome addition to Gmail.  I would love to look up a contact and be automatically connected by pressing a ‘call’ button instead of looking up the contact and then dialing the number.  It’s not that I’m particularly lazy (though I likely am), it’s just that the technology exists, it’s in Google’s framework, and it’s a logical addition.

Google Maps w/ Calling Power: http://local.google.com/

Techcrunch on Google Maps: http://www.techcrunch.com/2006/11/16/google-local-ads-click-to-call/

Categories: tech, web
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

