Home > Austin, media, movies > battlestar galactica season 3 – where is it?!

battlestar galactica season 3 – where is it?!

i’ve anxiously awaited this day for months – a chance to satiate my insane addiction to the most incredible show ever to grace the photonic brilliance of my tv (actually i watch it all on my laptop).  season 3 of battlestar galactica premiered last night, and being as i don’t have cable, i buy the episodes on the itune music store.  tv shows that are carried on itunes are avaialble the morning following their air dates.  itunes carries seasons 1 & 2 of battlestar galactica, plus the original mini-series.  logic follows that season 3 would be on itunes as well.  today is the day following the airing of the episode.  so where is it?!  i’m going to shrivel away to nothing if i don’t get my fix!

while you wait for galactica like me, perhaps you’d enjoy an alternate audio track to harry potter and the sorcerer’s stone.  created by an austinite, it is quite brilliant.  the downloadable mp3s and instructions for ‘wizard people’ are here.

Categories: Austin, media, movies
  1. Jason
    October 9, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    I don’t know where it is, but I’m gonna freak if I don’t find it soon!

    I myself was out of town on Friday and the only reason I didn’t care about missing BG was it’d be on itunes Saturday. I don’t even own an ipod, the only reason I use itunes is from BG!

    Please, let me know if you find out or if you find it on another website!!!

  2. utherpendragon
    October 9, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    I, too, have waited months for Oct. 7th, when I assumed the season 3 premiere of Galactica would be available from iTunes. It is now 3 days later and no Galactica! This is our favorite show, and the only way we can watch it is through iTunes. I can’t find any way to inquire through the itunes store as to when, if ever, it may be available.
    Does anyone know how? Please let me know.

  3. October 9, 2006 at 7:36 pm

    I just Googled this same problem hoping to find something out but this page is the only thing I could find. I’m in Canada and even though the show is filmed here we still couldn’t watch the webisodes on line (US only)… then I found them on YouTube, but the butt-heads at NBC Networks (which owns SciFi) had them pulled. I’m going into serious withdrawl!!!!! As soon as ome one finds out something, please e-mail me at luke@wecanbuildanorphanage.com to let me know when we can expect them. I’m going FRACKKING insane! Gods damn it!

  4. oldsk00l
    October 9, 2006 at 7:47 pm

    Hey NBC/Scifi

    …………………./´¯/)
    ………………..,/¯../
    ………………./…./
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
    ………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
    ……..(‘(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
    ………\……………..’…../
    ……….”…\………. _.·´
    …………\…………..(
    …………..\………….\…

  5. October 9, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    I was just about to post an almost identical entry on my blog when I found yours during a final, futile google search. I can’t believe these guys! iTunes even had “the story so far” available for download! What was the point of that if they weren’t going to make S3 available? I guess I’ll just have to find it through bittorrent. I did notice that they had a download available on the NBC site exclusively for people with Intel Mobile processors. It’s requires a Microsoft plug-in which makes me wonder if BSG is transitioning over to Microsoft’s new video dowload service. Arrrggghhh!!!

  6. Justin
    October 9, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    I’m in the same situation… and I’m glad to see I’m not the only one.

    I don’t have (or want…) cable, and iTunes is my way to feed the BSG fix. I’ve been checking iTunes constantly since Saturday morning to no avail. My money says they’re stalling for the “New Music Tuesday” big plug before they release it. The sad irony is that I could have easily downloaded it via BitTorrent a long time ago.

    Oh well… hopefully they’ll at least offer a Season Pass after forcing us to wait this long.

  7. October 9, 2006 at 9:09 pm

    This is more evidence for me that stories of broadcast TV being a dead medium are premature.

  8. J-name
    October 9, 2006 at 9:16 pm

    Chris –

    It’s taking longer to die because they won’t the dang episode (s) on iTunes.

    This sucks.

  9. Jason
    October 9, 2006 at 9:18 pm

    Yeah, you better believe I’ll be recording it this week. I mean, I don’t mind shelling out the 1.99 for the occasional show I miss, but if I can’t rely on them to post it before Season 4, then what’s the point!

    As to the stuff on NBC… I don’t have (or want) an Intel Processor… why should I be punished for choosing a superior alternative… AMD.

    I am the happy owner of an AMD desktop and laptop, not to mention the fleet of AMD desktops and laptops I manage at work. In fact, I don’t think I know anyone with a VIIV or a Centrino processor to even get on their site and check it out. Don’t suppose anyone wants to find a way to trick the system into letting you in so you can download the episode for us!

  10. Jason
    October 9, 2006 at 9:32 pm

    I was doing a little digging on scifi’s bboard and found this post string. Doesn’t fully answer the question, but does have a possible solution. The last post suggests calling the woman in charge of NBC’s digital media and asking them why the episode is not on itunes and when it will be available.

    As the guy says, if you choose to do this, be polite, otherwise they’ll just hang up on you and ignore the problem.

    http://mboard.scifi.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=2215481&an=0&page=0#2215481

  11. peaston
    October 10, 2006 at 9:08 am

    Interestingly, earlier today I noticed a new Battlestar Galactica cover graphic on the iTunes home pages that said “New Season”.

    I clicked on it, excited that they *finally* put it on-line, and received a message stating that the item was not availabe from the U.S. iTunes store.

    So I went to the TV section, then the Sci Fi network section, and checked on both the Battlestare Galactica section and the separate Story So Far section. There still was nothing about season three.

    I went back to the home page and the image I saw before was gone. Thinking I may have just a had a psychotic episode, I clicked the back button in iTunes, until I got the home pages as I viewed it before, which had the graphic but still gave me the message about not being in the use. After closing down iTunes and reopening it later in the day, however, it is gone.

    Damn, I should have taken a screen shot. Now noone will believe me. Did anyone else see it?

  12. Kevin
    October 10, 2006 at 11:06 am

    Just wanted to affirm that you’re not going crazy, peaston. I saw the “New Season” graphic and got the same “not currently available in the U.S. iTunes store” message. The graphic has since disappeared from iTunes for me as well.

  13. Christine
    October 10, 2006 at 11:17 am

    I, too googled “battlestar season 3 itunes” and found this blog. Reading over and seeing someone mention “New Music Tuesdays” gives me hope! Everytime I get on the computer I check iTunes because I can’t seem to ever catch 301/2 on Sci Fi. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  14. corbywan
    October 10, 2006 at 12:07 pm

    I also did a google on this subject and found this page.

    It seems to me that if season 3 were available anywhere for download/purchase they would be promoting the snot out of it on the SciFi page. And, the fact that peaston and others saw a graphic for it on iTunes suggests to me that it will be there at some point. Apple has been known in the past to accidentally post graphics on their website that aren’t ready to go live yet.

    It occured to me to check iTunes to see if any other SciFi Channel shows had new episodes online yet. It was hard to tell so someone else who may follow those others shows might want to take a peak and let us know.

    But, I think the fact that it isn’t being agressivly promoted anywhere eles may indicate it will be online at the ITMS soon. (please please please)

  15. dantespilotlite
    October 10, 2006 at 12:15 pm

    Okay, iTunes is going to have to provide a support group for us if they don’t get Season 3 up. –Going out of my frakking mind.

  16. dantespilotlite
    October 10, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    Official acknowledgement of iTunes Season 3 difficulty:

    http://mboard.scifi.com/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=2218326&an=0&page=0#2218326

    “As many of you are already aware, we are experiencing technical difficulties in making the season three premiere (“Occupation”/”Precipice”) available on iTunes. We are working on the matter and hope to resolve it shortly.

    Thank you for your continued patience.”

    Uhm, not to be rude, but after 20 milllion video downloads at iTunes, what exactly would cause such a difficulty?!?

  17. corbywan
    October 10, 2006 at 2:19 pm

    My name is corby, and I’m a Galactiholic.

  18. greekboy
    October 10, 2006 at 2:39 pm

    I’m on vacation and just got hooked on the new bsg.. was a fan of the original… anyway… I am going nuts cause I get no webisodes and no season 3…. Itunes is pissing me off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just wanted to vent…….

  19. greekboy
    October 10, 2006 at 2:39 pm

    I’m on vacation in europe and just got hooked on the new bsg.. was a fan of the original… anyway… I am going nuts cause I get no webisodes and no season 3…. Itunes is pissing me off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! just wanted to vent…….

  20. Jason
    October 11, 2006 at 5:47 am

    Hey guys, it’s posted… finally!

    I don’t know when it went up, but as of 6:45 AM Central Time, it is up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

